March!

Posted: March 13, 2012 in Aengus, Noah
Tags: , ,

What the hell happened to winter??? It’s March already, and we had only two snowfalls this year — one was before Halloween, which is just crazy. It seems like it’s been spring for ages already.

At any rate, my mom visited us last weekend, which was wonderful. She let me play with her new toy, and I now have a serious case of iPad 2 envy.

20120312-233735.jpg

  • Aengus, left, on my iPad; and my mom, right, on her fancy-shmancy iPad 2.
  • We all played mini golf together, which was an absolute blast, and we went out to eat at the Wood Grill Buffet.

    Let me tell you: if you ever need to feel better about yourself, head to a buffet. Holy shit.

    We also tried shopping in downtown Harrisonburg, where “Restaurant Week” was just beginning. Turns out that the only places open in downtown Harrisonburg on a Sunday are the restaurants.

      And they wonder why our economy is flopping like a fish on a river bank.

    But wait! One other place was open: the art gallery/store. It was really quite nice to look at locally-created sculptures, jewelry, paintings, and wood carvings. I love that Noah enjoys such things (and wish there were more galleries around here), and it was nice to have an opportunity to explain art to Aengus.

    I miss having art in my life. I miss a lot of things that I put away in exchange for parenthood. I’m not entirely sure why I would do such a thing. My children may not share my passion for, say, architecture, but that’s no reason to live a life devoid of these pleasures. And as it turns out, the boys actually enjoy art and architecture quite a lot.

    20120312-231058.jpg

    This week: Friday night was family night at the shooting range. ::sigh:: We are coming dangerously close to belonging here in Asscrack. Let the record show, though: my target had the tightest grouping in the family — and it was my first time!

    20120312-231257.jpg
    (No pictures of my awesomeness, of course. No one ever takes my picture. I hope they regret it one day, motherfuckers. That’s okay, I don’t mind.)

    I didn’t see much of the family on Saturday, as I was working in the morning and enjoyed some time with friends in the afternoon. But we did eat blackberry pie and watch Hugo together that night, which was . . . not as good as I was expecting. On both counts.

    AND THEN.
    I found a this on the clearance rack at the store yesterday.

    20120312-231645.jpg

    Why would I buy a broken bunny, you ask? Well for starters, it was only two dollars. That chocolate’s worth at least that much, in any form. But the real reason is because I have plans. Easter plans. Plans that require a few supplies from the craft store and a mangled chocolate bunny. πŸ™‚

    When I told Aengus my idea, he showed the kind of excitement for creativity I haven’t seen from him in . . . Well, ever.

    Stay tuned.

    Comments
    1. Stephanie says:

      It’s about damn time you started blogging again. πŸ˜‰ I hope you find a way to incorporate more art in your life soon. I’ve been trying a little art journaling — it’s flexible and low-pressure. I spend more time pinning art journaling information on Pinterest than I actually spend doing it, but at least I got started. For me, that’s something.

    Leave a Reply

    