In Which The Boys Have Big Ideas

Posted: August 12, 2010 in Aengus, Noah

Aengus has been building Bionicles nonstop since our return from the Bay; his head seems to be full of ideas for new weapons and armor. I suspect I’ll be finding those little pieces until I’m ninety. The up side, though, is that he’s getting lots of engineering practice and is getting innovative and creative in his designs. And, might I add, he’s color-coordinating them — something he hasn’t done before. The designer in me is flushing with pride.

This weekend, Noah talked with us more than he usually does. We had spirited conversations about a lot of things and joked around like we haven’t in a long time. ❤ He’s back to normal now, though. 😦

He also reiterated his interest in an eighteenth birthday trip to Japan. Though we dream a lot in this family without often following through, I am determined to make this happen for him. I traveled to Ecuador when I was seventeen, and the experience was life-changing; I very much want that for him. In fact, I told him that I’d give up my fortieth birthday trip to add to the Japan fund.

He gaped at me.

Noah told me he’d like to start learning Japanese now so that he’s prepared by the time he’d actually arrive. Of course. Toughest language on the planet to learn? Sure, let’s do it! Then I asked who he’d like to go with, wondering whether he’d want to make it a solo trip or take a buddy.

“You,” he said without hesitation. “And Shelby. And . . . I guess Dad.”

Pretending not to be absolutely over the moon that he wanted me to go with him, I asked, “What about Aengus? We can’t go on a trip to the other side of the world and exclude him from the experience!”

To which he replied, “Why not?”

Pltt.

Comments
  1. Stephanie says:

    I like what you said about your trip to Ecuador being life changing. I feel the same way about my grandma taking me to Europe when I was 14.

Leave a Reply

