In Which Boredom Finally Strikes

Posted: March 17, 2010 in Aengus, Noah
Tags: , ,

I didn’t think this would ever happen. Veteran unschoolers have insisted it would; I’ve been waiting for it so long that I’d almost given up. But, after a year-and-a-half with the Xbox and three years of unschooling, it has finally, blessedly happened: my kids have gotten bored.

And by “bored,” I mean bored enough to say something to me, thereby risking being given chores or academic work.

So, bored silly.

This is a good thing — a great thing, in fact. Boredom, like necessity, gives birth to many amazing things. In Noah’s case, that’s meant fiddling around with photography a bit (no doubt inspired by his girlfriend).

Aengus, on the other hand, simply started whining. So, we calculated how much money he has and how much more he needs to buy the next game. I also insisted he listen as I read from Story of the World, Volume One (“The Earliest People” – history) to my daycare kid. I knew that if he just gave it 30 seconds of his time, he’d actually be interested; and sure enough, he was. I’m hoping he’ll want to hear more today, and maybe even do a few of the activities. Cross your fingers for us.

We’ve also been watching a phenomenal amount of LOST, and I am constantly amazed by how well he picks up on the littlest clues and details. He’s like having my own little pop-up video/LOST for Dummies commentator.

One of the many things LOST has inspired in him is a desire to camp out in our yard, by himself. And although he said he’s be okay with using our tent, what he really wants to do is build a structure from found materials, like this:

Ummm . . . Okaaay. I’ll get right on that, Aengus. Anyone have a spare fuselage sitting around that we could borrow?

Comments
  1. Stephanie says:

    Aengus rocks! πŸ™‚ Your attitude toward unschooling is damn inspiring! I need to spend more time around you so some of it’ll rub off. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

